×

Want to win a $1000 staycation for Crown Perth? Simply sign up to our weekly newsletter below. Winner drawn Oct 9th! (Click here for t&c’s).


    We’re pretty big fans of outdoor cinemas at Perth Is OK (check some of our faves HERE), and this new concept might just be the coolest yet!

    For the month of January 2021, the Fremantle Prison will be screening different iconic prison movies three nights a week in the historical Freo Prison courtyard.

    Every Thursday, Saturday and Sunday evening (plus a couple of Tuesdays) you’ll be able to revisit classics like The Shawshank Redemption, Midnight Express and Chopper under the Fremantle stars and amidst the spooky surrounds of the old Freo Gaol.

    Cinema-goers can bring their own fold up chairs and picnic hampers, or indulge in the fully licensed bar with snack food options on site.

    Plus there’s a premium ticket option with fold up chair and primo positioning, or for an extra $19.90 you can take a tour of the prison before the film.

    In case this all wasn’t enough, the courtyard will also some great local live music before the movie starts to encourage you to get down early and snag a great spot!

    Head to the Prison Cinemas Website to grab your tickets now, and check the full program below:

    Tuesday January 12 – The Shawshank Redemption
    Thursday January 14 – Brubaker
    Saturday January 16 – The Shawshank Redemption
    Sunday January 17 – The Longest Yard
    Thursday January 21 – American History X
    Saturday January 23 – The Rock
    Sunday January 24 – Midnight Express
    Tuesday January 26 – Chopper
    Thursday January 28 – Cool Hand Luke
    Saturday January 30 – The Great Escape
    Sunday January 31 – The Dirty Dozen
    Thursday February 4 – Con Air
    Sunday February 7 – Escape From Alcatraz

    Most Popular