WA Win Back-To-Back Marsh Cup Titles With Huge Win Over South Australia

Western Australia Cricket Marsh Cup
Home >News >WA Win Back-To-Back Marsh Cup Titles With Huge Win Over South Australia

Western Australia’s dominance of the domestic cricket league continued last night with a dominating victory of South Australia in the Marsh Cup Final at the WACA Ground.

The win was set up on the back of a record-breaking knock by WA wicketkeeper/batsman Josh Inglis, who was dropped three times on this way to making 138 of 110 balls.

Inglis’ partnership with resurgent opener Cam Bancroft (90 off 112) batted South Australia out of the game, before returning captain Mitch Marsh finished the job with a quick-fire 56 off 30 in the final stages.

To the surprise of few, WA’s target of 387 proved way out of reach for South Australia, who started valiantly thanks to some early hitting from Henry Hunt (50) and Kelvin Smith (44), though once they fell the rest of the team followed in relatively quick succession.

After recently returning from the Australian men’s team tour of India without being selected, Ashton Agar was all smiles after taking 5-64, while club stalwart AJ Tye played a nice cameo with 3-34.

Yesterday’s victory marks WA’s 16th one-day championship title, and comes after their back-to-back BBL success in January.

It also means they’re in the hunt for another treble if they can win the Sheffield Shield final in a couple of weeks time – a feat they achieved last season.

Image Credit: WACA

Subscribe to our free newsletter!